Return to Headlines

BPS Social Studies Teachers Shine at FCSS Conference

Fourteen Brevard Social Studies teachers attended the annual Florida Council for the Social Studies (FCSS) Conference in Orlando, Florida. Brevard dominated the FCSS Excellence in Education Awards Dinner, taking home three district awards and three state awards. Brevard’s 2023 District Teachers of the Year were Lisa Burke (Lewis Carroll 鶹 School), Emily Jensen (Kennedy Middle School), and Megan Terseck (Palm Bay Magnet High School).


Two Brevard teachers were also recognized as the state’s Teachers of the Year. Jeffrey Draves (Viera High School) and Mrs. Burke each received the Dr. Theron Trimble Florida Teacher of the Year Award, which recognizes exceptional social studies teachers for grades K-5, 6-8, and 9-12.


Adding to the accolades, Christina Uttlinger, Brevard’s 鶹 Social Studies Content Specialist, received a state award, the Dr. J. Doyle Casteel Outstanding Leadership Award. This award recognized her many years of devoted service as a member and current president of the Florida Association for Social Studies Supervisors (FASSS).